Survey shows over 80 percent of Afghans have ‘No sympathy’ for Taliban

Afghans continue to lose sympathy for the armed opposition groups, 82 percent indicating that they have “no sympathy” for the Taliban, according to a new survey released by The Asia Foundation on Tuesday.

The foundation’s survey – which is based on face-to-face interviews with 15,012 people from all major and most minor ethnic groups in 34 provinces – shows that 79 percent of Afghans in northwest identify the Taliban as the biggest threat to local security while in east 57 percent see Daesh/ISIS as the biggest threat to local security.

The survey which was conducted in July 2018, indicates the optimism about country’s direction has remained unchanged (33%) despite the nation’s challenges to maintain security against the Taliban insurgency and the growing presence of ISIS/Daesh while 61 percent more said the country is moving towards the wrong direction.

According to the survey, insecurity is the most frequently cited reason for pessimism, followed by unemployment, bad economy and high prices.

In addition, the survey shows that fear while voting has increased significantly, from 52% last year to 62% in 2018. Over half of the survey respondents (52%) said they believe that the next election would be free and fair.

“This year’s Survey reveals a mix of hope and fear as Afghans look towards their future,” said Abdullah Ahmadzai, The Asia Foundation’s country representative in Afghanistan.

“While the long delay in parliamentary elections, ongoing violence, and economic and employment challenges continue to color citizens’ views, the empirical evidence in 2018 reveals an incremental rise in Afghans’ confidence in democracy, elections, government institutions, and services. Clearly, even in the face of often seemingly imperceptible progress, Afghans are eager for a better future,” he added.

This comes as the Taliban did not comment regarding the survey so far.

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Более 80% афганцев не испытывают симпатии к «Талибану»

Как сообщает новостное агентство «Ариана-Ньюс», вооруженные оппозиционные группировки в Афганистане продолжают терять свою привлекательность перед населением страны. Согласно результатам свежего опроса, которые во вторник опубликовал Азиатский фонд, 82% афганцев не испытывают симпатии к «Талибану».

Исследование фонда основывалось на личном опросе представителей наиболее крупных и самых малых этнических групп в 34 провинциях. Всего были опрошены 15,012 человек. Результаты опроса показывают, что 79% афганцев на северо-западе страны считают, что «Талибан» – это основная угроза их безопасности. В это же время, 57% афганцев, проживающих на востоке, считают, что для них наиболее серьёзную опасность представляет ИГИЛ (террористическая организация, запрещенная на территории РФ).

Исследование, которое было проведено в июле 2018 года, показывает, что уровень оптимизма по поводу официальной политики государства не изменился (33%), несмотря на то, что обеспечение безопасности от действий участников «Талибана» и растущее присутствие боевиков ИГИЛ представляют серьёзные проблемы для нации. 61% афганцев считает, что страна движется в неправильном направлении.

Согласно исследованию, наиболее частой причиной для пессимизма стала угроза безопасности. За ней идут безработица, плохая экономическая ситуация и высокие цены.

Помимо этого, исследование показало, что во время выборов уровень обеспокоенности безопасностью вырос до 62% по сравнению с 52% в прошлом году. При этом более половины респондентов (52%) считают, что следующие выборы будут честными.

«Исследование этого года показало надежды и страхи афганцев, которые смотрят в будущее», – заявил Абдулла Ахмадзай, представитель Азиатского фонда в Афганистане.

«Несмотря на задержки в проведении парламентских выборов, угрозы насилия, экономические проблемы и проблемы с трудоустройством, эмпирические данные 2018 года показывают, что среди жителей Афганистана наблюдается постепенный рост доверия к демократии, выборам, государственным учреждениям и услугам. Несомненно, даже несмотря на то, что прогресс кажется незаметным, афганцы стремятся к светлому будущему», – добавил представитель Азиатского фонда.

Представители движения «Талибан» пока никак не прокомментировали результаты исследования.

Александр Гнедчик

You Might Also Like

Добавить комментарий

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>